Many people in California do not have health insurance. Their employer doesn’t offer it, and they can’t afford to pay for a policy themselves. Others have coverage but feel they can’t afford to use it because the deductible is so high that it would take weeks of income just to meet it.
The good news is that if the other driver is at fault for the wreck, their car insurance should pay for your medical costs.
California drivers all carry liability insurance
The fault doesn’t just affect which car insurance policy pays after a crash. It also affects what other policies will cover. Even if you tried to use your health insurance at the hospital, when the insurance company or doctors found out that you got hurt in a car crash, the claim would likely wind up subrogated or passed on to the car insurance company of the driver at fault.
Every driver must carry both property damage and bodily injury liability coverage. Even if all the other driver has the minimum amount of coverage required by the law, you can count on $15,000 worth of coverage for injury-related costs. If two people or more get hurt, the policy should have $30,000 of coverage for them to share.
That coverage could be enough to cover all your costs, or you may need to think about going to court if you suffer serious injury and their insurance coverage is too low to pay for all of it. Learning about how insurance works after car crashes in California will help you feel confident about getting the medical care you need because of a wreck.